Your Legacy

sperm and egg bestbathroombooks.com

Here’s what happens:

Your sperm, the fastest swimmer in the bunch, finds your egg.

And now, lo and behold, you’re reading this.  You won the lottery.  You did.  You start piling up all the stuff that makes you you.  You go through school and draw a picture.  You make an ashtray out of clay, the orange mud of the earth, the lines of your palm like a leaf or a snowflake.  Your tiny hand.

The pixels pile up, the digital media starts humming, videos on the web, something you said.  You start a blog.  And Facebook.  Search Google.

I’ll post my picture for the world.  Everyone will know me.  Everyone.

And the ones and zeroes just keep growing and growing and growing.  You aren’t just flesh and blood anymore, you are pixels in the cloud.  And numbers.

You are numbers.

You might get married and have kids.  More zygotes.  Yours.  You might just create enough that your vapor trail, your meteor tail, your wind in the sail is readable forever.

Forever. 

And someday, someone reads this, reads you and watches you and gazes into your eyes long after you’re gone.  And the world has changed enough that what you created has a new meaning, a meaning you cannot now imagine, but it means something to the new ones.  The new ones think they understand what you mean.  They think they know.

Do they know?

Every word, every search, every image, every comment, every keystroke is you, all you and your life.  And you are gone, but you are here, to experience, to explore, to react to, to confuse and confound and delight and turn on.

Who is this?  Who was this?  What was she thinking?  What did he mean?    Is that how people were?  Is that what they thought?  Is this what society was like?  Why did they do this?  Why did they say this?  What does this mean?

Is this true?

Jason Bloch www.bestbathroombooks.com

Your son

Sophie Bloch-Rollins www.bestbathroombooks.com

Your daughter

And now, an Original Music Video by the Author!

About bestbathroombooks

I run a small publishing company and am presently seeking the funniest, coolest and most marketable ideas to sell in places like Urban Outfitters, Papyrus, college bookstores and independent bookstores in the Humor Sections. Contact me through this blog or better at www.bestbathroombooks.com. There are some talented people out there writing good, funny, conceptual books and blogging some funny stuff. I wish I had time to read more and write more. I have a day gig and do a lot of other things, but blogging helps me stay connected to my laptop and ensures sterility (due to EMF on my testicles) which is great because I've had enough kids. Les
This entry was posted in Kinda Funny and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Your Legacy

  1. lezile says:

    Creation can be such a beautiful thing; your progeny prove it; and this post. ((( : )
    BTW, how close to the closing coupe de blogs are ya?

  2. El Guapo says:

    Beautiful children. Congratulations!
    Nice that you have older pictures in the background of your daughter’s pic too.

    And yet, how often do we think of our ancestors from 3 generations ago? 5? 30?

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    Great post featuring your children. But I thought you had two children, not three. Oh – could the pics on the wall have been worked into the story? How about the short guy with the beard?

    • Frank! You mean the dog, right? I think my daughter thinks that’s her kid. But don’t worry, she’s biting at the bit to have some of her own. Her husband has to finish college first. Yeah, I guess I could’ve worked in the pics on the wall.
      From the mind of Frankangle.

  4. So true Guap. Not often enough. And the digital trail. It adds to the pile. I don’t think people realize every comment, even this one, will be traced back to me.
    And you..

  5. It will be interesting to see history is reported in the future. It’ll be so much easier to trace events than in the past.

  6. So true, CS. It’s going to be people’s lives in real time, with digital docs to prove it all happened. We’ll really have to watch for Big Brother and computer image massaging.
    It’s gonna be interesting!

  7. speaker7 says:

    I’m so very glad that my legacy does not involve a stint on The Bachelor or America’s Got Talent. Those would be some hard 0001111s to live down.

  8. So true. I swear, everytime I see KISS or an episode of 2 and 1/2 men, I wonder if they know what that’s going to look like in fifty years.

  9. J.A. Vas says:

    “Your sperm, the fastest swimmer in the bunch, finds your egg.” thanks for reminding me: I was the fastest among millions. now I’m not going to shoot me (as announced in your demotivational post) 😉

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Hope you had a good holiday weekend.

  11. Great, Frank. I was going to mention the 75 GG Bridge celebration in my last post but it didn’t seem appropriate with racism. Spectacular fireworks!

  12. Angie Z. says:

    I’m at times terrified by the fact that my children carry my DNA. It’s like watching yourself reborn, regenerating arms and legs before your very eyes. I don’t know why it’s so damn important that we procreate, outside of the whole survival of our species stuff.

    Great looking kids, Les!

  13. Thanks for the compliment, Angie. I think about the entire legacy ball of wax, with our digital pile of pics and blogs and comments on fb, and then I think about the real legacy, our kids. All different forms of us bleeding through and leaving a mark.

Leave a comment