Blog Fog-The Urban Dictionary is Wrong

Sorry Urban Dictionary, but you’re cray.  You may be all urban (and maybe that’s your problem) but you have incorrectly defined Blog Fog as:

the pollution and obfuscation of news and debate to the point of public confusion or apathy via over-reliance on blogs, “tweets” and other “secondary” news sources.

Yeah. No.

Just as the hardcore rappers know what cray is, we bloggers know what blog fog is.  And it is not a pollution or obfuscation of news and debate. 

Blog Fog is:  the state of disconnection from reality caused by secondary and tertiary thoughts, resulting in unfocused vision and the inability to interact with other humans in an attempt to produce a decent blog.

See, most people go get a cup of coffee at (insert evil corporation) and, while standing in line, casually eye the pastry case and/or low fat coffee cake.  But a blogger, with the ever present blog fog disrupting normal synapses, is wondering how coffee cake can be low fat, and how the guy in the suit next in line can smell like petula oil, and why that girl’s boots look like Captain Hook’s except for the butt-ugly heels.  This is the person who asks “Huh?” when the counter girl says, “Two-eighty five”.

Thanks Barista, for ruining my blog by saying "Hello!"

Blogger brains are in a constant fog of topics sparked by random events, recipes, stupid politicians and interaction with non-bloggers (known as normals) that obfuscate their thinking and slow their response time to the most rudimentary questions.

I know that chick's got a hook under that coat

Words are not always defined by those who formally define them, but by the reality of a combination of application and repetition.  Let’s take back this definition as those in the midst of the fog, who know that the effort it takes to function in the normal world while enveloped in this thick gray stuff is difficult and at least worthy of the correct label. 

We live it People, so we should own it.

Would it hurt to stick together?

 PS-I’m working on something funny, I swear.

www.bestbathroombooks.com

About bestbathroombooks

I run a small publishing company and am presently seeking the funniest, coolest and most marketable ideas to sell in places like Urban Outfitters, Papyrus, college bookstores and independent bookstores in the Humor Sections. Contact me through this blog or better at www.bestbathroombooks.com. There are some talented people out there writing good, funny, conceptual books and blogging some funny stuff. I wish I had time to read more and write more. I have a day gig and do a lot of other things, but blogging helps me stay connected to my laptop and ensures sterility (due to EMF on my testicles) which is great because I've had enough kids. Les
This entry was posted in Kinda Funny and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog Fog-The Urban Dictionary is Wrong

  1. Gillian Colbert says:

    So TRUE!!!!! I find myself constantly thinking “I should post about that,” to the point where I now carry a notebook everywhere for jotting down blog ideas!

  2. H.E. ELLIS says:

    Who knew I had blog fog my whole life?? ADHD my ass!!

  3. I think you might have blog iceberg (that’s way past wispy wet) you bizzy bloggist.

  4. Lez says:

    gGOoD JOb lEs. i’M In A mAzE OF hAZE TX TO yOur BlOg. ((( : z

  5. I don’t know, Lez. Those might be Beer Goggles.

  6. speaker7 says:

    I’m not as smart as the urban dictionary, yo (see–I just proved that by typing ‘yo’), but shouldn’t the term be “blog smog?”

  7. Angie Z. says:

    Don’t you dare make fun of my Captain Hook boots. They’re Italian leather masterpieces that Lithuanian 6-year-olds worked very hard on. And that was you in line behind me?

    Seriously ugly. And thanks for this as it just cleared up my blog fog.

  8. I thought that was you. How do you type with that hook?

  9. joem18b says:

    Nice.

    I’ve never done it, but if you click on the Add tab in UD, can’t you enter your definition for blog fog? Then other readers vote on it? According to the site, that’s how all the definitions got there. Just askin.

  10. Thanks Joe. I didn’t know this. Now we can change the lexicon of the world by coming up with stuff that rhymes.
    Good tip.

Leave a comment