BBQ Sauce or Blood?

I just recorded this at NPR studios in SF on Friday.  It’s an example of two styles of writing.  I wrote a blogpost entitled “Hey Crazy Gun Nut Dude!” on this blog in bestbathroombooks style.  Then I wrote this piece with the same subject matter for the Perspective series. (This is my fourth Perspectives).  This more conservative and thoughtful style is the style they like.  NPR Perspectives are heard by about two to three hundred thousand people a day in the Bay Area (as opposed to the fey hundred hits a day I get on my blog).  That amount doubles when they play the piece on the weekend.

Once you click on the link, click on the blue highlighted title “I Give Up”.  Then click on the yellow arrow above my pic for the two minute podcast.

Here’s what’s amazing:  Pretty much every one of you who reads this blog–and the people who leave comments in my comment box–are more capable of writing these pieces than I am.  And you can probably read it better.

There are eleven member stations across the US.  Find the one nearest your geographical location, write a piece and submit it on line.  It’s as easy as writing a blog post.  It’s only 350 words, or about two minutes when read aloud.  You should hear within a week if they accept it.  If they don’t, the editor will most likely give you good feedback on what you need to do to fix it.  They need pieces, and you (yes, I’m talking to you) are fully capable of throwing down some NPR ‘tude.  It can be on any subject and the best part:

They pay you.

If you’ve made it this far, thank you and get writing.  I’m betting you can smoke me like a double rack of baby back. With BBQ sauce.

Can you please get back to writing the funny stuff?

www.bestbathroombooks.com

About bestbathroombooks

I run a small publishing company and am presently seeking the funniest, coolest and most marketable ideas to sell in places like Urban Outfitters, Papyrus, college bookstores and independent bookstores in the Humor Sections. Contact me through this blog or better at www.bestbathroombooks.com. There are some talented people out there writing good, funny, conceptual books and blogging some funny stuff. I wish I had time to read more and write more. I have a day gig and do a lot of other things, but blogging helps me stay connected to my laptop and ensures sterility (due to EMF on my testicles) which is great because I've had enough kids. Les
This entry was posted in Not to Laugh at and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BBQ Sauce or Blood?

  1. El Guapo says:

    Good to know! Can blogger radio domination be far behind???

  2. aFrankAngle says:

    Thanks for the encouragement Les! Meanwhile, good perspective on a difficult subject!

  3. speaker7 says:

    I have to say I preferred the Hey Crazy Gun Nut Dude post, but great audio piece. I mean how can you top “Here in California, we have among the strictest gun laws in the nation. The NRA says these are crazy laws. Like for instance, we made it illegal to walk into a Starbucks with guns strapped all over you. I agree. This is a crazy law. There nothing that makes me feel safer than a guy filled with caffeine strapped with guns.”

    I’m sad that there are only 9 posts left to go.

    • Frank! I’m going to repeat myself (again and again). I’d love to hear a recorded piece from you.

    • Yeah, I know. I kinda feel the same way. I’d rather hear me sing than talk anyway, and writing stuff that makes me and a couple other people laugh is truly the funnest of all. I got into a couple of comment dialogs with some NRA guys on the NPR site. I thought the best comment I got was from a guy who said he’d never had a conversation with anyone where he didn’t totally disagree or totally agree, so this seemed to be his first time on the subject that he didn’t just shut someone with a different view down.
      I will miss you and a few others, but it’s starting to feel a little like work, you know? I think the people who really enjoy it are the true bloggers (or they’re getting paid somehow).
      Hope I can live up to the last nine.
      Thanks for the support.

  4. Angie Z. says:

    Thanks for this information and your vote of confidence. You’re not only a great writer, you’re a great reader — I mean you have a voice for this. I don’t know that any Joe who can write can necessarily read. How do you know my voice isn’t just like Victoria Jackson from SNL? Kidding. Maybe I can start small and do a vlog on my own site.

  5. Angie! Thanks. Honestly, you and S7 and Frank are all so talented, and NPR NEEDS you. It’s not that big a deal and I encourage you to write an easy little piece on anything (they’d love your subject matter). If nothing else, submit something. Don’t tell anybody! Just check it out.
    Okay, done nagging.
    PS-a friend of mine’s brother is VIctoria Jackson’s manager! She’s a weirdo.

Leave a Reply

