When Sublime Was

There was a time before SmartPhones and Ipads and Starbucks filled with bloggers— a simpler, gentler world. 

That was the 90s. 

Here’s what we used to do with our free time:


Les

www.bestbathroombooks.com

 
PS Thanks Lez

About bestbathroombooks

I run a small publishing company and am presently seeking the funniest, coolest and most marketable ideas to sell in places like Urban Outfitters, Papyrus, college bookstores and independent bookstores in the Humor Sections. Contact me through this blog or better at www.bestbathroombooks.com. There are some talented people out there writing good, funny, conceptual books and blogging some funny stuff. I wish I had time to read more and write more. I have a day gig and do a lot of other things, but blogging helps me stay connected to my laptop and ensures sterility (due to EMF on my testicles) which is great because I've had enough kids. Les
This entry was posted in Kinda Funny and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to When Sublime Was

  1. rantonit says:

    Sonova…. well I’ve had hand shakes that’ve lasted close to 8 seconds , score!

  2. Lez says:

    What a hoot, Les! LOVE this Post, and not just because I had a “hand” in it! Those were sweeeet times – virtual was not the new real; REAL was the REAL. Happenin’, up front, close and personal (or something like that). I loved being there through the evolution of your father-son handshake. And that you have made my day with it here now. Love you, Man ((( : )

  3. Thanks Lez.
    Couldn’t have done it without you.
    Les

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Hey … so why is the story unfinished? You see, you got me with “Here’s what we used to do with our time” … or whatever you wrote … so I was expecting, Here’s what a now do with our time … or some other evolutionary-oriented post signifying the evolution of human behaviors … but that’s ok, I’ll get over it after counseling.

  5. Angie Z. says:

    Where did someone find this old tape of my brother and I doing our epic 30-second-long secret handshake? Where? The problem is it’s not a secret now 😦

    Seriously, that guy could be my brother in 1990.

  6. Then I guess I’m your brother.
    Les

  7. speaker7 says:

    I miss the 90s. I think I’ve gotten dumber as I’ve aged thanks to all the new conveniences.

  8. No fu*king way. We are the champions, my friend.
    Les

  9. If it makes you feel better, my girls make up handshakes all the time, most of them enjoyable dorky. And they have all these different versions of pounding fists. The last one they did involves making our two hands look like a turkey. Then someone says Thanksgiving, swipes their other hand in between the two hands, pretending to cut off the turkey’s head. Of course, then I had to make my hand go through death throes, but that wasn’t supposed to be part of it.

  10. les says:

    That’s great! You gotta vidoetape that and post it!
    Les

  11. John Erickson says:

    I knew a guy who tried to master one of these 156-step handshakes, and tried to do it in record time.
    You know, I should really pick up the phone, call him, and see how “Lefty” is doing…. 😉

  12. I still have most of my appendages.
    Les

Leave a comment