Why Getting Clocked is Cool

There’s something about getting punched in the face that really wakes you up—even if you get knocked out or down.  There is no RedBull-Heart-Palpitating drink that even comes close to a fist smashing into your face.  But the best part about getting clocked is how cool it actually is.
Whatever you think of Mel Gibson, he understood the attractiveness of pain.  In every movie he has written or directed, and in most of his other movies, he never fails to include a scene filled with excruciating pain.   Payback, Braveheart, Lethal Weapon, Apocalypto,  etc. ad naseum– and let’s not forget Passion of the Christ–are all filled with ridiculous amounts of physical anguish.

Lest you get the wrong impression (which never happens with my readers as they understand my inner chi) I think Mel Gibson is a total dick.  But that fact that he puts excruciating scenes of pain in all his damn movies make you wonder why people are so intrigued with it, and in particular, a protagonist that can accept so much.

This isn’t an article about Mel Gibson.  It’s an article about the importance of pain.

Are you ready for the punch line?  Okay, move in a little closer…a little closer. BAM!

See what I mean?  Woke you right up, didn’t it?

If you are a human being (and I’m guessing most of you are) here are your two choices:

A) Pain

B) Death

Take your pick!

HINT: Number One is way more fun.

So we all go through pain, and getting punched in the face is a distillation of what it feels like to be alive.

Did my guitarist Hank (http://www.reverbnation.com/thetearjerkersband)  deserve to get this hideous black (purple?) eye?   It doesn’t really matter.  He is alive!  He knows what it feels like to live on this wonderful planet!  He gets to walk around with a badge of courage pasted to his face!  All the heroes, religious icons and martyrs throughout history went through the same basic process (plus nails, fire, bullets and stoning) and they are held in the highest esteem.  They are heroes.  They are icons.  They are dead.

Imagine if they would have ducked.

The world just wouldn’t be the great place it is.

So here’s to Hank.  That Boy knows how to Live.z

Want to hear me read aloud?

Here’s a Serious Article I did For NPR about Not getting a Fat Lip:

http://www.kqed.org/a/perspectives/R201105020735

 

http://www.bestbathroombooks.com

 

 

 

About bestbathroombooks

I run a small publishing company and am presently seeking the funniest, coolest and most marketable ideas to sell in places like Urban Outfitters, Papyrus, college bookstores and independent bookstores in the Humor Sections. Contact me through this blog or better at www.bestbathroombooks.com. There are some talented people out there writing good, funny, conceptual books and blogging some funny stuff. I wish I had time to read more and write more. I have a day gig and do a lot of other things, but blogging helps me stay connected to my laptop and ensures sterility (due to EMF on my testicles) which is great because I've had enough kids. Les
This entry was posted in Kinda Funny and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Getting Clocked is Cool

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    I’m a girl but I throw a mean left hook. Then I run really, REALLY fast…

  2. joem18b says:

    I took your advice and went out and paid for a good fisting. It hurt, alright, but the punch-in–the-face part never eventuated.

    It’s good to be alive, but at one point I was wishing that I was dead.

Leave a Reply

